Classical Arts Society of Houston is an IRS 501(c)(3) Organization with Tax ID 76-0392366

310 Kingfisher Drive                                                                                                                                        12614 Crystal Park Ln

Sugar Land, TX 77478                                                                                                                                          Pearland, TX 77584
(281) 242-4914                                                                                                                                                               (713) 777-2800


Copyright CLASSICAL ARTS SOCIETY OF HOUSTON. All rights reserved.

Founding Members

Late Mrs. Indu Krishnamurthy

Nalini Mukhopadhyay

Prabha Bala

About Classical Arts Society

Founded in 1993, the Classical Arts Society of Houston is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and maintaining the rich heritage of the classical performing arts of India. The founders of the Classical Arts Society are Smt. Indu Krishnamurty, Smt. Nalini Mukhopadhyay, Mrs. Nalini Mukhopadhyay and Smt. Prabha Bala.

The objectives of the Classical Arts Society are:
1) To present music and dance recitals of high quality by leading contemporary performers
2) To educate through talks, lecture demonstrations and symposia by experts in the fields of Indian classical performing arts
3) To create an endowment for the promotion of Indian classical arts in the greater Houston area

38 years ago an ad-hoc group formed under the leadsetship of the late Mrs. Indu Krishnamurthy and started conducting the annual Sri Tyagaraja Music Festival in Spring of each year in the Houston area. This effort was formalized in 1993 with the formation of the Classical Arts Society of Houston. Following a few initial years the venue for this festival moved to the beautiful campus of the Meenakshi Temple in Pearland. The serene ambience of the temple has been an ideal location to host the annual Houston Tyagaraja Utsavan (Festival) over the year. The co-sponsorship of the Sri Meenakshi Temple Society is an added blessing. A full list of programs by high caliber artists presented at the Tyagaraja Festivals and other occasions are organized by this group.

The Classical Arts Society of Houston is a 501(c)(3) a tax-exempt organization. All programs presented by the Classical Arts Society are open to the public. It is funded solely by donations from the attendees and patrons of its programs. The donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Any donations in excess of expenses will be used for the endowment and for staging programs during lean years and milestone years. The Classical Arts Society gratefully acknowledges its patrons, donors, friends, advertisers, and volunteers for their generosity.

Advisory Board

Ganesh Balasubramaniam

Rama Krishnan

Vivek Natarajan

Kama Raghavan

Nalini Sadagopan

Sheila Sriram

Board Members

Nalini Mukhopadhyay (Chairman)

Prabha Bala (President & Treasurer)

Anuradha Subramanian (Secretary)

Krishna Mudan (Treasurer)

Abhishek Balakrishnan

Chitra Dharmarajan

Radhika Hariharan

Sridevi Josyula

Partha Krishnamurthy

Vatsa Kumar

Sudha Ravi Mani

Ranjana Narasiman

Manjula Rao

Lakshmi Srivaths